Chickens in the morning

It was hard to get up this morning but at least I could have breakfast as well as a coffee in peace this morning. When I went out to feed the chickens and let them out of their coops, the naughty little chick that went missing last evening also turned up again, so that’s a good thing. I was a bit worried because a chick might be a nice snack for possums, cats, stoats and even rats.
Chickens are beings that are usually quite happy with their lives and I haven’t come across a chicken with confidence problems or loneliness yet. It’s also very rare to find a chicken that’s not a “morning person”. On the contrary. They are quite energetic early in the morning and are happy to start the day.

A while ago, I read the book The Way of the Hen: Zen and the Art of Raising Chickens
, which tells about what you can learn from chickens and how therapeutic they can be. The chickens and pigeons are actually the only reason why I still work here because if I left, they’d be quite neglected. No one on the farm cares very much about their well-being. I would feel quite guilty if I left the chickens!

I wish I had the energy of a chicken in the morning – to just be filled with energy as soon as the first rays of sunlight touch the sky. I improved a bit – after, I manage to write in the mornings and so far I have not missed one morning on the blog. However, I still wake up with sadness in my heart and with a lack of pure motivation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Morning hours

Leave a Reply

