Books as mentors

If you’ve read past posts in my blog, you know that finding a true mentor is one important thing for me but that real life mentors seem to be a very rare breed indeed. I am one of the many people who see books as a “replacement” for mentors. Many people who read regularly learn a lot from books and some also become inspired to make changes in their lives by reading. Reading can be more than just entertaining!

At the moment, I am very excited to read the second book in Marie Harbon’s Seven Point Eight series (The First Chronicle and  The Second Chronicle are available for Kindle for very little money and also as Paperbacks of which a Reprint is planned). I read the first book in the series because I am a book reviewer and it’s one of the books that received a five star rating. Yesterday, the author was so nice so supply me with a copy of the second book as well and even though I planned to have an early night, I thought I might just read a chapter – just a chapter… well, I ended up reading a bit more than just one! The book is a fiction book, however, it’s also the kind of book that makes you think about what you would do if you were in the characters’ situation and which of the characters acts closest to what you would do. The Seven Point Eight series is (to keep it simple) about how people would use the power if they could explore space, other worlds and even other dimensions in which vast knowledge waits for the taking. Some would use it for becoming more knowledgeable, some would use it because they think it would lead to unimaginable riches. But there are also dangers. It’s just very exciting!

Enough about that though – I might post a longer and proper review about the books once I’ve done the part for my job. I’m even tempted to offer my translation services to the author because I’m sure those books would do so well in other languages, too. I rarely ever get excited about books like that!

One book I would definitely put on the same level as a mentor is Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way“. Years ago, it helped me to realize that I can’t just wait for a miracle to happen and I took my writing “career” in my own hands. Even though I never thought I would have a chance, I applied for my first translation job and got it! Just like that. Strangely enough, Do What You Love And Never Work Again!, the book I translated, was about finding the job you love and it didn’t only help me with getting my first positive feedback but also with learning a little more about myself.  From that moment on, I’ve been able to earn my keep by translating books, websites and by writing articles for others (for which I often don’t get the credit but you got to earn your living somehow!). This was my first step and it showed me that there IS money in writing. Not millions but enough to just get by.

When I was younger, Tolkien was one of my mentors and he’s still someone I would count as one of the biggest influences in my life. He opened my soul to a different world – a world of fantastic creatures, a world of elves and magic. A world in which good wins in the end even there is a lot of darkness along the way. We can learn a lot from books and I guess they are the best way to “communicate” with the great minds that are otherwise not within our reach.

Are there any books that have changed your life?

2 Comments

Filed under Morning hours

2 responses to “Books as mentors

  1. Paolo Coelho’s The Alchemist was the one that did it for me. Didn’t change my life but changed the way I think and my perspective on life. I’ve read many more authors since but his was the first of the many that influenced me.

    • I’ve also read that book quite a few times. I received my first copy of the book from one of my school teachers. She was my English and literature teacher but we also became friends and as a teacher, she also knew that I needed more stimulation and challenge than other students in my class. It’s great when someone introduces you to books like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

