Dead hen

It’s about 10am now and the rain is still falling. Unfortunately, the morning took a bad turn when I discovered that the sick hen I had in a cage died. She was still alive when I checked on her in the morning during my chicken round. But when I came back from my first shift on the farm, she was dead. I found her three nights ago and she wasn’t very well. So I separated her from the others to give her extra care and attention. She seemed to pick up a little yesterday but now she’s gone 😦 Poor little thing.  Even though we still have a bit more than 100 chickens, it’s always sad to lose one.

5 Comments

Filed under Morning hours

5 responses to “Dead hen

  1. Sad, yes. A dead hen really looks so dead, doesn’t it? I started with 5 young hens and unfortunately lost two – first eye infections and then they seemed to just go downhill. Once they have breathing difficulties, that seems to be it with hens. I have a lot to learn.

    • Nice to meet you! It’s nice to go online and find some good comments on the blog. I will have a look at your blog a bit later once I’ve got the first shift of work on the farm done. I also have a blog about Bantam chickens, however, I don’t find enough time to put as much on it as I would like to! What kind of chickens do you have?

      • I have no idea what kind of chickens they are – is that crazy? I’ve got a grey one that looks a bit like a seagull to me, the others are ‘normal’ looking ginger and brown gals (one is possibly a guy).

    • Like a seagull? That sounds like an interesting chicken! I’d love to see a photo! Maybe I can also tell you what kind of chickens they are. Different breeds can have quite different characters and some are tougher than others (i.e. they don’t get sick as easily). Here’s my chicken blog (not very active!): http://worldofbantams.wordpress.com/

      • Thank you – I’m planning a chicken post soon, so I’ll do my best to get a few photos as well, though the grey one is very shy, tends to run a mile when anyone goes near her.

Leave a Reply

