Rain and sleep

This morning I woke up to the sound of heavy rain. This means that the tanks will fill up but also that the ground will be awfully muddy, parts of the coops and pigeon lofts might be flooded and the chickens might take one or the other mud bath. It will be a lot of work on the farm today, so I didn’t really want to get up as my bed was so comfy. I guess you all know the magnet-like quality a bed has after slowly drifting into the world of wakefulness. The day starts at 6 a.m. I can’t remember the last time I ever really slept in as no one on the farm is willing to help me out – after all, this would mean to get up early and to be reliable! And the getting up early part isn’t really a strength of this farmer family. So even on my single day off each week, I get to get up early as a chicken. Ah, sleep, I wish we could spend more time with each other!

Leave a comment

Filed under Morning hours

Leave a Reply

