Jumbled thoughts

Now that I know that I have to leave the country, I will have to make up my mind about which country to move to, which country to try and settle in or to temporarily live in. I should be working on some of my freelance jobs right now, deadlines are approaching fast – but my mind is full of thoughts and there is nobody to talk to.

I always thought that Scotland might be a nice and beautiful place to move to. But would I be able to afford living there?

Or England – that would even be more expensive. Of course, I would start with staying in a cheap hostel and then move on to a place via wwoofing or helpx (you work in exchange for accommodation and food or just accommodation for less hours). This would then give me some time to find an affordable flat, with or without flatmates. I would have to do some more research about how much living in the UK would cost me.

I also thought about Canada – but it would most likely be harder to get a permanent visa there. As I do have a European passport, the UK would be less of a problem.

I also thought about Greece as I’ve been there before and just loved it. But there would be the language barrier and I am not sure about how safe living in that country would be right now.

Asian countries were also on my list, but then the language barrier would be even bigger and Japan would be a country I simply could not afford – and how would I get a permanent visa there? It’s very unlikely.

It would all be better if there was someone I could talk to  about all my thoughts, but there is nobody. I just have to rely on myself to make the right decisions. And I have to rely on my freelance work to never run out, so I better get back to work to earn more money. I’ll need it for the plane ticket and for surviving the first few weeks in another country.

I wish I did not have to leave. Sometimes I think about giving up, but then my dream of finishing my book will never come true.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jumbled thoughts

  1. There’s a lot to do and see in England! You will have to do some research on jobs though. If you’re not fussy you might be able to find some live in work. Transition is tough though. Hope you decide on somewhere soon. I’m counting on you to finish that book. 😉

    • Hello! Nice to hear from you. Jobs won’t be much of a problem as I can do my freelancing work anywhere in the world as long as I have my laptop and a reasonable internet connection. I will always be able to find some writing/translating jobs.
      I also have quite a bit of experience with jobs via helpx or wwoofing (willing workers on organic farms). With those places you usually work a certain amount of time each day (with 1-2 days off each week) in exchange for accommodation or accommodation + food. I already read up on a few places in England where you work three hours each day, five days a week, and get a room in exchange (mainly in hostels or hotels which is also a job I did before, so that would work out well for me). This will not be a permanent solution, of course, but a good way to start without having to spend heaps of money on hotel rooms!
      Fortunately, I can live and work almost anywhere in the EU with my passport, so at least there won’t be any immigration hassles! London will most likely be my first stop but later I would prefer to live in a place with more natural beauty and less people.

Leave a Reply

