How people treat you is how you allow them to treat you

In the last few weeks, I made a few disappointing “discoveries” about the true nature of people.  It is not the first time that I am disappointed, and I’m sure it won’t be the last. But this time, I felt that I need to put a stop to always being the nice, reliable person EVERYBODY can rely on. I feel that I need to choose more wisely – after all, if there are people who only remember that I exist when they need something, then they are not really worth my time. If they can’t be bothered “wasting” their time on me, then why I should I spend time with them, or for them?

I need to learn that people only treat me the way they do because I allow them to. I need to make wiser decisions when it comes to people, and I have to value my own time a lot more. And value myself more.

I will still be a good, nice, reliable, trustworthy person – but I won’t let people take advantage of me any more, and I won’t let them hurt me. The people who are worth crying for will do their best not to make me cry ever. And the ones who make me cry, and don’t care, should not have a place in my life. I deserve better. It took me a long time to see this, but I do indeed deserve better. I am worth something, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

